Nightmare Dungeons

Nightmare Dungeons are one of the primary endgame activities in Diablo IV, and are the most efficient way to power up your character in general. These are modified versions of regular Dungeons made to be harder, with the difficulty increasing based on its Tier (1-100). However, to enter a Nightmare Dungeon you must first acquire a Nightmare Sigil.

How to Get Nightmare Sigils

How to Get First Sigil (To Unlock Nightmare Dungeons)

Before you can start farming Nightmare Dungeons, you will need to get you first Nightmare Sigil to get the ball rolling.

Here’s what you have to do to acquire your first one:

  • Complete the Cathedral of Light Capstone Dungeon and unlock World Tier 3 (Nightmare difficulty)
  • Silence 10 Whispers on the new difficulty and turn them in to the Tree of Whispers
  • Open the cache you receive, and a Nightmare Sigil will drop!

How to Get More Nightmare Sigils

Once you have received your first one, there are several ways you can start getting more Sigils:

  • Completing Whispers of the Dead
  • Drops within Nightmare Dungeons, as well as from completing them
  • Completing Events
  • Defeating World Bosses in World Tier 3 or 4
  • Crafting them at the Occultist
    • This is a great way to get rid of unwanted Sigils and gain new ones!

How to Use a Nightmare Sigil

Once you have a Sigil, you can use it to convert a normal Dungeon into a Nightmare version! All Sigils are stored in the Consumables tab in your inventory, and from here you can look at each Sigil to see the following information:

  • Which dungeon will be converted
  • What Tier of Nightmare Dungeon it will turn into
  • How many Revives are allowed
  • What affixes will be active in the dungeon

Every Sigil will have a unique combination of the affected dungeon and applied affixes, which cannot be changed. If you are not happy with a Sigil’s combination, you can salvage them to be crafted into new ones at the Occultist.

When you have a Sigil for a dungeon you want to tackle, just use it in your inventory — this will transform a specific regular dungeon into a Nightmare Dungeon. Open your map and find the dungeon, click on it, and you’ll be able to teleport straight inside and begin.

Nightmare Dungeon Tiers

Nightmare Dungeons get more difficult the higher the tier is of the Sigil you have used. Your first dungeon will be at Tier 1, and will be able to go as high as Tier 100. Every Tier increase will increase the health and damage of all enemies. Additionally, the amount of revives allowed and affixes within the dungeon will change at certain thresholds.

  • Tiers 1-10: 12 revives and 3 affixes (1 positive, 2 negative)
  • Tiers 11-20: 12 revives and 4 affixes (1 positive, 3 negative)
  • Tiers 21+: 4 revives and 5 affixes (1 positive, 4 negative)

Nightmare Dungeon Rewards

While the Nightmare Dungeons can be difficult, the rewards from them are pretty great.

  • Glyphs: In addition to the normal rewards for dungeons (Gold, experience, and a Codex of Power Aspect), you will also be able to find and level Glyphs.
  • Items: Additionally, you are guaranteed 4 Item Rewards upon completion, and there is a much higher monster density within the dungeon, making this the most efficient way to farm for Legendary and Unique gear.



Nightmare Dungeons

icy veins icon
Icy Veins

Nightmare Dungeons Guide

Scroll to Top